By: Sis Manet Gonzales (SFL Sharjah)

RESPECT is due to everyone – that’s what my parents would always tell me since I was little.

Growing up and getting along people from different cultures, beliefs and views in life, I thought, respect equates belongingness (being able to blend in), Love and of course respect.

 

Respecting people was never really that hard, knowing they’d do me the same.For me it was as simple as, I respect them, they respect me. But what if they don’t?

 

I didn’t really think of answering that question – my logic was if somebody doesn’t respect me, then why would I even bother? It was easy for acquaintances, for classmates, not-so-close friends and usual people around – not with family.

They say, life will hit you the hardest when you least expect it (I can’t remember who said it though, just read it somewhere) – it’s true. Mine was in 2010. A year after I earned my degree in college. I thought life will then be easier without the books to study, Nursing Care Plans to make, Case Studies and Research to prepare. I thought I was free and I wouldn’t have anything to worry about but to make myself a successful nurse.

While waiting for the NLE Result in 2009, I and my friends thought of trying it out in the BPO industry until the results come out. We went through a one–day hiring process and got hired in one of the famous BPO companies in Cebu on June of 2009.The NLE Results came out on August 2009 and we all passed. We were all so happy and getting ready to ditch our BPO jobs to make ourselves true nurses. We started applying in different hospitals but it wasn’t easy. The opportunities were too low and the salary is not even half of what we were getting in the BPO.

 

In 2010, our family had its share of the darkest nightmare any family wouldn’t want to have. Respect was gone and I had to be responsible, not only for my own, but for my family. It was beyond difficult. I had to give up sleep to work for multiple jobs. I still worked in the BPO from 5 in the morning until 2 in the afternoon and in the hospital from 3 in the afternoon until 11 in the evening (Yes, I didn’t give up nursing). And on my days off? I am a tour guide. Sounds fun. It went on for a few months until stress had taken its toll on me. I was admitted and had to go through minor surgery. I was so upset. I can’t have that 3 to 4-hour sleep anymore and go through hospitalization again. I had to give up something. It was a very tough decision to make but I knew GOD wanted to tell me something – I listened.

 

My parents decided to patch things up and forget everything behind. There were questions left unanswered and things unexplained but I thought I just had to be happy – we’re a family again. I quit my job in the hospital and went on with the BPO and Tourism – No; I’m not giving up nursing. I am fulfilling my responsibility. I know my time will come.

 

On the 15th of April, 2016, Misericordia made me realize something. Respect is not love nor forgiveness – Mercy is.It was the day when my questions were answered, my doubts were cleared and my heart was cleansed.I received GOD’s unconditional, immeasurable and unchanging love – I can’t wait to share it to everyone. I learned to forgive and let go even without being asked.

 

All these years, I thought I was fine, now I feel perfect.

 

Respect is due to everyone – still true, but so is MERCY.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment